Friday, November 05, 2010

Democratic Senator Patty Murray Wins

We have another woman winner in the Senate! Democratic Senator Patty Murray of Washington State has just won her 4th term. Murray's win makes 16 women in the Senate. The only remaining senate race is in Alaska. Republican Sen. Lisa Murkowski must win in Alaska for women to avoid losing ground in the Senate:

[Murray's] victory brings the number of Democratic seats in the Senate to 53, and reinforces a trend in which Democrats on the East and West Coasts were able to fight off Republican challengers while those in the South and Midwest were defeated.

Bookmark and Share