Thursday, November 08, 2012

New Hampshire Elects First All-Women Delegation

New Hampshire, looking more and more like Sweden, (!) with WOMEN in ALL major leadership positions: 

New Hampshire made history on Tuesday, electing the first-ever all-women delegation. Joining New Hampshire Senate incumbents Jeanne Shaheen (D) and Kelly Ayotte (R) are three newly elected women: Gov. Maggie Hassan (D), who will be the only female Democratic governor in 2013, and Reps. Carol Shea-Porter (D) and Ann McLane Kuster (D). CNN's exit polls for the state showed a significant 20-point gender gap that favored Obama and likely contributed to the Democratic candidates' wins.

 A little impressive N..H. gender history from the San Francisco Chronicle: 

New Hampshire, known for its first-in-the-nation primary, has racked up an impressive list of firsts when it comes to powerful women. In 1999, it became the first state to have a female governor (Shaheen), Senate president (Beverly Hollingworth) and House speaker (Donna Sytek) at the same time. Ten years later, it became the first state with a female majority in its state Senate.